Do you have a Goal yet?

8 Mar

“So I plead, before you flip the channel or decide to switch off the television and go off to bed, please think- where do you want to go? What are your goals and when and how you aim to achieve it?”

I immediately switched off the T.V as the credits started rolling in with a music to match. I sat there taking in the silence of my otherwise noisy hall with those last words playing on my mind. Almost mechanically as if on que my mind started wandering on all those conversations I have had with my college, counsellor, teachers, parents, friends, relatives and mentors. All of them like the puny guy in the T.V, begged me to have a goal. We have people writing books about it for years now. I always miss that section in a bookstore. For me going into the management or business section is like going into the candy store and going to the counter where the serve liquor chocolates. You need to develop a taste for it. Something my taste buds and reading part of my brain refuses to do. So having a Goal huh, I say to myself, not aloud though, I am not there yet. Goal hmmm… What does that even mean? To have a blueprint of your life? To have an agenda for how you would like your life to go? To have specific tasks, assigned to a deadline and a strong will and mind to accomplish it? I am just not sure and was lost even before I started working on it.

I picked up a pen and started summing up what I have managed to soak in during those “You must have a goal” conversations. I need to know what I really want to do. So I wrote it down:

√ I want to make a difference (Also, want to be very rich and successfull while I do that)

Alright, not bad. I had something to kick off this process. Now I had to list things I liked doing:

√ I like talking to people, listening to their worries and providing solutions (no that does not include bitching, although that’s a talent in itself)

√ I like helping people when in need ( although a lot of time I have been lied to and ripped off)

√ I like observing and reading people and their plausible situation ( no, that does not make me a stalker)

I think I am on a roll here. I am indeed getting closer to the goal I can feel it. I think I have narrowed it down to I should have been a psychologist. But on the other hand I have a very small attention span, I tend to get very introvert and sometimes so indifferent that I couldn’t care less. So I had to scratch that off the list. Hmmm.. I am back to square one.

I always considered myself as one who was just about ordinary. Ordinary with a little confidence and creative mind to go along with it. I wonder if there were any buyers in the market for that. I was of a  firm belief that education has nothing to do with the kind of job you land into or the success you achieve, I realised I was wrong. I was also of the belief that motivation and self belief and worth is what takes you far ahead, but then there are all kinds of people on your path to success to rape you off it. So well an MBA degree and 3 and a half years in the corporate world later, I am here sitting with a piece of paper for my Eureka moment. Did it happen that night? I can’t say for sure, cause if not Eureka I atleast had my moment of  realisation.

Sometime around December 2011 I saw a speech given by Steve Jobs at a graduation speech at Stanford (I guess). His words were simple, something that we all know, yet impacting. I will try to quote him but it went something like this: ” Love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet keep looking don’t settle. As all matters of heart you will know when you find it and like all great relationship it gets better and better as the years roll on. So keep looking.”

Most of us in this world are still looking. Like our first love that we parted ways with, like bitter relationships we got over before we met that one love of our life. Goal is pretty much like that. I may not know where I am going but when I will land into a job I love - I will know. So do I still need a Goal or just a right heart will do just fine???

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

